Tag Archives: reading

I’ll be Giving a Reading on the 17th

The people at InDigest have curated a reading on Nabokov. I’ll be reading an essay about visiting Nabokov’s childhood home in St. Petersburg (where I went on a scholarship to a writers’ conference).

 

From Indigest:

April 22nd is Vladimir Nabokov’s 112th birthday and, to celebrate, the InDigest 1207 Reading Series is throwing a party. Why? Because Nabokov is awesome, that’s why.

The celebration will feature readings from Nabokov’s work and original pieces inspired by him. Readers include Nicole Callihan, Sasha Fletcher, Meakin Armstrong & Dave Haan.

The party starts at 7 PM on Sunday, April 17th at The Gallery at LPR. Come down to eat some cake, have a drink, and help us commemorate the birth of everyone’s favorite multilingual Russian novelist/short-story writer/literary critic/lepidopterist/chess genius/synesthete.

Reading: Hosting Park-Lit in Union Sq

Park-Lit has a simple concept: writers read from their work,  outside, in a public park. At 6:30 on the 21st, Guernica (in association with Park-Lit) will be having a reading in Union Square Park. (On the south side, right in the thick of things, near the Washington statue).

The readers:
Joshua Kors (nonfiction)
Terese Svoboda (poetry)
Alexander Chee (fiction)

More about the readers and who they are (they’re fabulous, by the way) at the Park-Lit site.

Reading: Freerange Nonfiction, May 5th

I’ll be reading at the Freerange Nonfiction series this May 5th. I’ll be reading from something new: an essay about a particularly horrible event that happened to me when I was much younger: I interrupted a roommate who’d captured another, tied him down, and threatened to saw his head off with a chainsaw.

I dislike overly dramatic memoirs, so I’m going to try to make the piece about something larger: the nature of nonfiction in general. (But I’ll also try to give you the drama.)

Reading: Happy Ending, Feb. 11th

Thursday, 8:00 pm. Happy Ending, at 302 Broome St., between Forsyth and Eldridge.

It’s free. Happy Ending is a great bar with an interesting history: it used to be a “massage” parlor (hence the name). They’ve kept the exterior and some of the gear intact, but otherwise, it’s a fancy place.

Here’s the info on the reading:

Continue reading Reading: Happy Ending, Feb. 11th

Reading: Tandem Readings, January 17th

Looks like I’m taking part in Tandem Readings’ monthly reading series at CELL THEATRE on the 17th.

It’ll be with some great people: Irina Reyn, I introduced at a PEN World Voices event that Guernica sponsored a while back, and damn, she’s good.

Jonathan Miles a friend (just last night) was telling me is amazing. supposedly, his book is hilarious. And I’ve heard good things about Jonathan Tel, too.

Continue reading Reading: Tandem Readings, January 17th

InDigest / (Le) Poisson Rouge: Febuary 4th Reading

I’ll be reading with Erica Wright at (Le) Poisson Rouge, the great new venue located inside the old Village Vanguard. It’s for the magazine, InDigest. More info HERE and HERE

Details:
02.04.09

(Le) Poisson Rouge

New York, NY
6pm doors | 7pm reading
Free
(Le) Poisson Rouge is located at 158 Bleecker St. in the Village.

From the InDigest site:

InDigest 1207 Reading Series will be presented the first Wednesday of every month at (Le) Poisson Rouge at 158 Bleecker St. in New York. All InDigest 1207 events are completely free, and all events at (Le) Poisson Rouge will take place in LPR’s front bar and gallery. For updates on future readings sign up for our e-mail list be e-mailing indigest.newsletter@gmail.com. For more information on supporting InDigest 1207 or reading at an InDigest 1207 event please e-mail indigestmag@gmail.com.

InDigest 1207 was started to further the mission of InDigest: to create a dialogue about the arts, through the arts. By having authors speak to or read from another author who has influenced them–positively or negatively–we hope to show that the process of writing (and reading) is not done in a vacuum, but is an interactive process.


Previous Readers: Ada Limon, Peter Bognanni, Sam Osterhout, Jess Grover, Meggie Elder, Lech Harris.

Cornelia Street Cafe: Reading Tomorrow, December 16th

I’m doing a reading on the 16th at Cornelia Street Cafe along with Thaddeus Rutkowski and Alison Summers.

From the Cornelia Street PR:

Meakin Armstrong will read his short story “Gigantic” Meakin Armstrong is a screenwriter, magazine editor, fiction editor of Guernica (guernicamag.com) and a freelance writer working on his first novel. For 2007, he received a Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference work-study “waitership.” Meakin is also contributor to the book, New York Calling: From Blackout to Bloomberg (Dist U of Chicago Press, 2007). Most recently, his work appeared in Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood. His work will also be featured in an upcoming book on movies.

Thaddeus Rutkowski will read his works “Smoking” and “Recovery is for Quitters”. Thaddeus Rutkowski is a graduate of Cornell University and The Johns Hopkins University. He is the author of the novels Tetched (Behler Publications) and Roughhouse (Kaya Press). Both books were finalists for an Asian American Literary Award. He has been the fiction editor of the literary magazine Many Mountains Moving since 2007. He teaches fiction writing at the Writer’s Voice of the West Side YMCA in Manhattan and has taught at Pace University, the Hudson Valley Writers Center and the Asian American Writers Workshop.

Alison Summers will read from her work-in-progress Predator. Alison Summers´ first play Punch me in the Stomach co-written with Deb Filler premiered at the New York Theatre Workshop in 1992. Since then she has written freelance journalism for newspapers including The Times in London, The Australian and Sydney Morning Herald. She has edited several novels which have won literary prizes, and is now writing her first novel.

Cover $7 (includes one house drink)

“Desires” A Reading at the Cornelia Street Cafe

Last night’s reading at Happy Ending was great, but it’s on to a new one this coming Tuesday:

DESIRES: A READING AT The Cornelia Street Café Tuesday, February 19th, 6:00 PM 29 Cornelia Street 212-989-9319

It’s a great little place where many people have been reading for years and years, from singer-songwriter Suzanne Vega to poet-senator Eugene McCarthy along with members of Monty Python to members of the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Power Ballad, a short story by Meakin Armstrong

Vegas-Habitat, a short play by Andy Podell

Across Town, a short story by Carol Ghiglieri

ANDY PODELL is a playwright, filmmaker, and activist. He is a founding member of The Radical Homosexual Agenda (www.radicalhomosexualagenda.org).

MEAKIN ARMSTRONG is a screenwriter, magazine editor, and freelance writer working on his first novel, Kings of the Wild Frontier. He is also the fiction editor for Guernica / A Magazine of Arts and Politics. For 2007, he received “waitership”) for the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference. Meakin is also contributor to the book, New York Calling: From Blackout to Bloomberg (Dist U of Chicago Press).

CAROL GHIGLIERI has an MA in creative writing from Boston University, and an MFA from Warren Wilson College. She has published stories in Alaska Quarterly Review, descant, and River City. She has won the Writer’s Voice New Voice Fiction Award and descant’s Gary Wilson Short Fiction Award. In addition to writing fiction, she works as a freelance editor and writer.

Cover $7 (includes one house drink)

“Desires” is a part of the Writers Room reading series. The Writers Room readings are supported by the Jerome Foundation, the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Directions to the CORNELIA STREET CAFÉ

By Subway

A, C, E, B, D, F & V TRAINS

Get on the south end of the train.
Take the train to the West 4th Street stop.
Exit at West 3rd Street.
Walk one block north to 4th Street.
Make an acute left onto Cornelia Street.

1 & 9 TRAINS

Take the train to the Sheridan Square stop.
Walk 2 1/2 blocks east on West 4th Street.
Make a right onto Cornelia Street.

I’ll be in Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood on the 14th



I’ve been asked to participate in a reading tomorrow, the 14th. It’s for the Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood Reading series, at the Happy Ending Lounge on 302 Broome Street, at the intersection of Broome Street and Forsyth Streets.

Before going into details, I have to say I love the (I think) unintended pun on the Citysearch site, which calls the lounge the best new bar in the city, etc:

“Happy Ending’s former life was an erotic massage parlor and has now been transformed into a club with two floors, each with its own feel.”

From the publicity for the series:

We are very pleased to invite you and yours to the newest incarnation of the Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood reading series, beginning this Valentine’s Day (Thursday, Feb. 14) and continuing the second Thursday of every month at 8:00 pm. The location is Happy Ending.

Author and Open City Founding Editor Thomas Beller founded the Webby Award-nominated Web site mrbellersneighborhood.com in 2000. The site publishes stories about New York City life that follow in the tradition of Joseph Mitchell and E.B. White—slices of life, portraits of memorable characters, scandalous encounters with public decadence and heartwarming displays of civil courage.

Readers on February 14th are Laren Stover, Nora Maynard, and Meakin Armstrong. The host is Patrick Gallagher. The reading begins at 8:00 pm.

Nora Maynard’s work has appeared in The Rambler, CHOW, Apartment Therapy, and other publications. She has received fiction fellowships from the Millay Colony for the Arts, the Ragdale Foundation, the Ucross Foundation, and Blue Mountain Center. In 2007 the Bronx Writers’ Center/Bronx Council on the Arts awarded her the Chapter One prize for an excerpt from her novel-in-progress, Burnt Hill Road.

Laren Stover’s first novel Pluto, Animal Lover was a finalist for the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award. She has written for The New York Observer, The New York Times, Bergdorf Goodman Magazine, Deutsche Vogue, and Bomb.

Meakin Armstrong is a screenwriter, magazine editor, and freelance writer working on his first novel, Kings of the Wild Frontier. Among the awards and grants he received is a “waitership” to the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference in 2007. He is also contributor to the book, New York Calling: From Blackout to Bloomberg (Dist U of Chicago Press, 2007) and is the fiction editor for Guernica: A Magazine of Art and Politics (guernicamag.com).

Happy Ending is located at 302 Broome Street, at the intersection of Broome Street and Forsyth Street. The phone number is 212-334-9676

Reposting: 2007 Bread Loaf waiters are doing a reading


It’s called the “Orphan Reading” because, well, it’s a long story.

Anyway, many of the 2007 work-study scholars, writers who received a “waitership” from Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, are having a reading during AWP, the big writers’ conference, convention, and blah blah. This is strictly unofficial. Unsanctioned. We’re reading together as friends.

It’ll take place in Brooklyn.

Pacific Standard
8:30 pm Feb 1, 2008

Find it here

Readers (more or less and given in no particular order)

Aaron Balkan
Avery Slater
Shane Oshetski
Greg Wrenn
Matt Siegel
Dave MacLean
Julia Kudravetz
Lindsay Bernal
Emily Perez
Jenny Hill
Jennifer de Leon
Meakin Armstrong

We’ll have to somehow start a bonfire.