Reading: MR. Beller’s Neighborhood, Feb 14th

I’m giving a reading for
MR. BELLER’S NEIGHBORHOOD READING SERIES AT HAPPY ENDING, FEBRUARY 14

I’ve been asked to read with the writers for the Webby Award-nominated Web site Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood on Thursday, February 14th.

From the publicity for the series:

We are very pleased to invite you and yours to the newest incarnation of the Mr. Beller’s Neighborhood reading series, beginning this Valentine’s Day (Thursday, Feb. 14) and continuing the second Thursday of every month at 8:00 pm. The location is Happy Ending.

Author and Open City Founding Editor Thomas Beller founded mrbellersneighborhood.com in 2000. The site publishes stories about New York City life that follow in the tradition of Joseph Mitchell and E.B. White—slices of life, portraits of memorable characters, scandalous encounters with public decadence and heartwarming displays of civil courage. Contributors are either famous, work in a variety of jobs and write out of a passion to express themselves, or both.

It is appropriate that the series will resume on Valentine’s Day, because this reading series is our “valentine” to you and NYC as a whole. Also, our move to Happy Ending marks a “happy ending” of sorts for our brief, restful hiatus.

Readers on February 14 are Laren Stover, Nora Maynard, and Meakin Armstrong. The host is Patrick Gallagher. The reading begins at 8:00 pm.

Nora Maynard’s work has appeared in The Rambler, CHOW, Apartment Therapy, and other publications. She has received fiction fellowships from the Millay Colony for the Arts, the Ragdale Foundation, the Ucross Foundation, and Blue Mountain Center. In 2007 the Bronx Writers’ Center/Bronx Council on the Arts awarded her the Chapter One prize for an excerpt from her novel-in-progress, Burnt Hill Road.

Laren Stover’s first novel Pluto, Animal Lover was a finalist for the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award. She has written for The New York Observer, The New York Times, Bergdorf Goodman Magazine, Deutsche Vogue, and Bomb.

Meakin Armstrong is a screenwriter, magazine editor, and freelance writer working on his first novel, Kings of the Wild Frontier. Among the awards and grants he received is a “waitership” to the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference in 2007. He is also contributor to the book, New York Calling: From Blackout to Bloomberg (Dist U of Chicago Press, 2007) and is the fiction editor for Guernica: A Magazine of Art and Politics (guernicamag.com).

Happy Ending is located at 302 Broome Street, at the intersection of Broome Street and Forsyth Street. The phone number is 212-334-9676.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

CommentLuv badge